When you were new to me


 

new to me

When you were new to me:

Sunshine and rain

Jumping in puddles and water in wellies

Sunlight through trees and sunburn

Hot chocolate and burnt tongues

Fresh flowers and hay fever.

 

When you were used to me:

Sunsets in silence

Bare feet on sand

Water over stones

Dandelions in wind

Words on paper.

 

When you were done with me:

Sunrise and sleep

Sand in eyelashes

Blank pages and spilt ink

New shoes and closed doors

Forgotten songs and better friends.

 

Because your voice paints colours in my head.

And your touch lights up a part of me I thought was dead.

This isn’t a safe place to be.

But it feels quite nice for now, for me.

new to me


 

Leave a Reply

